Personal tools
You are here: Home ACM SIGCAS Learning Webinar "Getting Cyber Safety Through to Employees (and anyone else)"
Document Actions

ACM SIGCAS Learning Webinar "Getting Cyber Safety Through to Employees (and anyone else)"

by Karla Carter last modified 2014-12-04 16:46

Join Presenter Ron Woerner and Moderator Karla Carter on Thursday, December 18, 2014 at noon ET (11am CT/10 am MT/ 9 am PT/ 5 pm GMT) for a session that will educate attendees on human motivation and interaction, how security controls may be bypassed by a person’s intentional or unintentional acts, and methods for reducing the cyber risks associated with people.

What SIGCAS security, privacy, webinar,
When 2014-12-18
from 12:00 to 13:00
Where Online
Contact Name Karla Carter
Contact Email
Attendees All are welcome. ACM Members: Please use the same email address to register as the one on file with ACM., Offer for Non-Members and Past Members: Save 15% on ACM Professional Membership
Add event to calendar vCal
iCal

People are and always will be the weakest link in security. Yet, it’s an often overlooked topic. This session discusses people skills, influence, and social engineering in security education. This session will educate attendees on human motivation and interaction, how security controls may be bypassed by a person’s intentional or unintentional acts, and methods for reducing the cyber risks associated with people. It concludes with online references that can be immediately used to inform on simple steps for cyber safety. The event is being held Thursday, December 18, 2014 at noon ET (11am CT/10 am MT/ 9 am PT/ 5 pm GMT)

Duration: 60 minutes (including audience Q&A;)

Presenter: Ron Woerner, Director of Cybersecurity Studies, Bellevue University

Ron Woerner is the Director of Cybersecurity Studies at Bellevue University. He has over 25 years of corporate and military experience in IT and Security and has worked for HDR, TD Ameritrade, ConAgra Foods, Mutual of Omaha, CSG Systems, and the State of Nebraska. Ron earned a B.S. from Michigan State University and a M.S. from Syracuse University. He was awarded the CISSP in 2001, the CISM in 2014, Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH), and Toastmasters Advanced Communicator and Leader designations. He is the Air Force Association CyberPatriot 2013-2014 Mentor of the Year for his work with High School cybersecurity competitions. He loves to talk to others who are passionate about Security and Privacy.

Moderator: Karla Carter, Associate Professor, College of Science and Technology at Bellevue University; Vice Chair, ACM SIGCAS

Karla Carter, Vice Chair for ACM SIGCAS, is an Associate Professor in the College of Science and Technology at Bellevue University, in Bellevue, Nebraska. Drawing on over 20 years of information technology experience, she teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in Information Technology Ethics, Emerging Technologies, Enterprise Data, Social Engineering, E-Commerce, and Web Development, and has been awarded Bellevue University's Excellence in Online Teaching Award. Karla's research interests focus on the intersection of information technology and society, particularly in the areas of social media and privacy. She is curious, intense, and irreverent, and can be found on Twitter at @professorkarla

More information about this event…


Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: