Personal tools
You are here: Home Awards
Document Actions


by kanthou — last modified 2017-04-10 23:22

2015 SIGCAS Making A Difference award

Congratulations to Gloria Childress Townsend, Professor of Computer Science at DePauw University, for receiving the 2015 SIGCAS Making A Difference award. Dr. Townsend has demonstrated her commitment to her women students through exemplary teaching and mentoring, and has shared her work through numerous conference presentations, papers, and grant-writing. As a member of the leadership team of ACM-W, she has provided guidance to hundreds of Computer Science faculty in their efforts to create regional celebrations of women in computing and to build local student ACM-W chapters.

2015 SIGCAS Outstanding Service award

Congratulations to Vaibhav Garg, Director of Information Security Awareness, Visa Inc., for receiving the 2015 SIGCAS Outstanding Service award. Under Dr. Garg’s direction as SIGCAS Newsletter editor, the quality and publication schedule of the newsletter have improved dramatically. The publication is now serving the SIGCAS community and all who are interested in learning about and maintaining currency in the social/ethical impact of computing at a level that has not been achieved in many years.

Call for Nominations

The SIGCAS Awards subcommittee (Beth Hawthorne, Keith Miller, and Flo Appel), invites you to nominate deserving candidates for the 2016 Making A Difference and Outstanding Service awards.

Please consider nominating individuals for one or both of these awards. A nomination should consist of the award for which the nomination applies, nominee's name, professional affiliation, relevant contributions, and online addresses & resources about the individual. Please send your nominations to appel at by May 1, 2017. Here are descriptions for each:

SIGCAS Making a Difference Award

This award is presented to an individual whose vision and achievements have significant influence in broadly shaping the interaction of computers and society. The recipient is exemplary in promoting awareness of ethical and social issues involving computing technology and ethical professional practice in the computing field. The recipient of this award and the award itself encourage responsible action by computer professionals. The recipient need not be a SIGCAS member. Some areas of endeavor that advance the social good and, therefore, may be considered for this award are:

  • Increasing access to the computing professions for diverse populations
  • Promoting privacy, security, trust, and safety in the computing sphere
  • Raising the standard of living worldwide through computing technology

SIGCAS Outstanding Service Award

This award is presented to a SIGCAS member who merits recognition for outstanding service in carrying out work that fosters SIGCAS’ well-being, vibrancy, visibility and currency.  This service may take many forms, including organizational leadership, editorial board participation or outreach efforts to expand SIGCAS’ influence in the ACM and computing community at large. Nominations will also be considered for individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to the computers and society community at large.

We look forward to hearing from you! Thank you!


Flo, Beth & Keith

Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: