2023 SIGCAS Awards-Call for Nominations

The SIGCAS Awards Committee is seeking nominations for the two annual SIGCAS awards: the Making A Difference Award and the Outstanding Service Award.

Please consider nominating individuals for one or both.

Links to nomination forms are given below. Please submit nominations by July 14, 2023.

SIGCAS Making a Difference Award
This award is presented to an individual whose vision and achievements have significant influence in broadly shaping the interaction of computers and society. The recipient is exemplary in promoting awareness of ethical and social issues involving computing technology and ethical professional practice in the computing field. The recipient of this award and the award itself encourage responsible action by computer professionals. The recipient need not be a SIGCAS member. Some areas of endeavor that advance the social good and, therefore, may be considered for this award are:
Increasing access to the computing professions for diverse populations
Promoting privacy, security, trust, and safety in the computing sphere
Raising the standard of living worldwide through computing technology

Full description and past winners
Nomination form for the Making A Difference Award

SIGCAS Outstanding Service Award
This award is presented to a SIGCAS member who merits recognition for outstanding service in carrying out work that fosters SIGCAS’ well-being, vibrancy, visibility and currency. This service may take many forms, including organizational leadership, editorial board participation or outreach efforts to expand SIGCAS’ influence in the ACM and computing community at large. Nominations will also be considered for individuals who have made noteworthy contributions to the computers and society community at large.

Full description and past winners
Nomination form for the Outstanding Service Award