Personal tools
You are here: Home Awards
Document Actions


by kanthou — last modified 2016-07-12 16:35

In recognition of the fine work that is accomplished by our members and associates, SIGCAS honors two individuals each year with the following awards

Making a Difference Award
This award is presented to an individual who is widely recognized for work related to the interaction of computers and society. The recipient is a leader in promoting awareness of ethical and social issues in computing. The recipients of this award and the award itself encourage responsible action by computer professionals.
Outstanding Service Award
This award is presented to a SIGCAS member for outstanding service to SIGCAS in carrying out responsibilities that foster the viability of SIGCAS and enable it to continue to make a contribution to the field of computing in the context of its stated mission.

2015 SIGCAS Making A Difference award

Congratulations to Gloria Childress Townsend, Professor of Computer Science at DePauw University, for receiving the 2015 SIGCAS Making A Difference award. Dr. Townsend has demonstrated her commitment to her women students through exemplary teaching and mentoring, and has shared her work through numerous conference presentations, papers, and grant-writing. As a member of the leadership team of ACM-W, she has provided guidance to hundreds of Computer Science faculty in their efforts to create regional celebrations of women in computing and to build local student ACM-W chapters.

2015 SIGCAS Outstanding Service award

Congratulations to Vaibhav Garg, Director of Information Security Awareness, Visa Inc., for receiving the 2015 SIGCAS Outstanding Service award. Under Dr. Garg’s direction as SIGCAS Newsletter editor, the quality and publication schedule of the newsletter have improved dramatically. The publication is now serving the SIGCAS community and all who are interested in learning about and maintaining currency in the social/ethical impact of computing at a level that has not been achieved in many years.
« March 2017 »
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa

Powered by Plone CMS, the Open Source Content Management System

This site conforms to the following standards: